Rugby World Cup 2011


The 2011 Rugby World Cup kicks off this morning. It’s 8.40am here and I’m currently watching the opening ceremony ahead of the first game between Tonga and host nation New Zealand. This is the 7th Rugby World Cup which is held every four years and will be the largest sporting event ever held in New Zealand. Twenty teams in total have qualified to compete – Tonga, Australia, England, Ireland, France, Canada, USA, Japan, Argentina, Scotland, Fiji, Wales, Italy, Namibia, Samoa, Romania, Russia, Georgia and South Africa. Many of these names are in contention to win the World Cup.

It will be a busy first weekend with the following matches taking place:


  • Tonga V New Zealand


  • France V Japan
  • Scotland V Romania
  • Argentina V England
  • Fiji V Namibia


  • Ireland V USA
  • Australia V Italy
  • South Africa V Wales

See all of the fixtures here.

This is going to be a great few weeks of sport, the Rugby World Cup, many warm up friendly events and finally the World Gymnastics Championships in Tokyo

View more about the 2011 Rugby World Cup on the official website.

Leave a Comment

Powered by WordPress | Deadline Theme : An AWESEM design