All You Need to Know: Pacific Rim Championships 2014


By Anna Rose Johnson

The 2014 Pacific Rim Championships will be held April 9-12, 2014 at the Richmond Olympic Oval in Richmond, B.C., Canada. The competition consists of women’s artistic, men’s artistic, rhythmic, and trampoline gymnastics. This biennial competition is always exciting and often showcases World and Olympic champions. The official website can be viewed here. 


 Legend:  WAG=women’s artistic gymnastics; MAG=men’s artistic gymnastics; RG-rhythmic gymnastics; TG=trampoline

250 athletes from 15 countries will compete at Pacific Rim. The countries scheduled to participate include:

      • Canada
      • Australia
      • China
      • Chinese Taipei
      • Colombia
      • Costa Rica
      • Hong Kong
      • Japan
      • Mexico
      • New Zealand
      • Panama
      • Peru
      • Philippines
      • Singapore
      • United States

The full list of participants is avaialble on the official event website.

The United States team is comprised of:

  • Simone Biles (Senior WAG)
  • Kyla Ross (Senior WAG)
  • Elizabeth Price (Senior WAG)
  • Nia Dennis (Junior WAG)
  • Norah Flatley (Junior WAG)
  • Bailie Key (Junior WAG)
  • John Orozco (Senior MAG)
  • Alex Naddour (Senior MAG)
  • Chris Brooks (Senior MAG)
  • Davis Grooms (Junior MAG)
  • Marty Strech (Junior MAG)
  • Alec Yoder (Junior MAG)
  • Aliya Proto (Rhythmic)
  • Cindy Lu (Rhythmic)
  • Valeriya Sharipova (Rhythmic)
  • Nastasya Generalova (Junior Rhythmic)
  • Ekatherina Kapitonova (Junior Rhythmic)
  • Brigita Budginas (Junior Rhythmic)
  • The junior rhythmic group includes Sophia Popova, Nicole Sladkov, Elina Nikerina, Nicky Wojtana, Yelyzaveta Merenzon, and Emily Rakhnyansky.


  • Luke Wiwtowski (MAG SNR)
  • Michael Mercieca (MAG SNR)
  • Jayden Bull (MAG SNR)
  • Clay Stephens (MAG JNR)
  • Gabriel O’Sullivan (MAG JNR)
  • Joshua Di Nucci (MAG JNR)
  • Georgia – Rose Brown (WAG SNR)
  • Georgia Godwin (WAG SNR)
  • Kiara Munteanu (WAG SNR)
  • Aya Meggs (WAG JNR)
  • Darcy Norman (WAG JNR)
  • Yasmin Collier (WAG JNR)
  • Danielle Price (RHY SNR)
  • Jaelle Cohen (RHY SNR)
  • Taylor Tirahardjo (RHY SNR)
  • Maya Bennett (RHY JNR)
  • Yingcui Chan (RHY JNR)
  • Sonya Lee (RHY JNR)
  • Blake Gaudry (TRA SNR)
  • Shauna Swadling (TRA SNR)
  • Hugh McConnell (TRA JNR)
  • Dominic Clarke (TRA JNR)
  • Jayden Cooney (TRA JNR)


  • Ellie Black (SNR WAG)
  • Maegan Chant (SNR WAG)
  • Aleeza Yu (SNR WAG)
  • Shallon Olsen (JNR WAG)
  • Megan Roberts (JNR WAG)
  • Rose Kaying Woo (JNR WAG)
  • Scott Morgan (SNR MAG)
  • Kevin Lytwyn (SNR MAG)
  • Nathan Gafuik (SNR MAG)
  • Rene Cournoyer (JNR MAG)
  • Aaron Mah (JNR MAG)
  • Ryan Oehrlein (JNR MAG)
  • Rosie MacLennan (SNR TRA)
  • Samantha Sendel (SNR TRA)
  • Jason Burnett (SNR TRA)
  • Keegan Soehn (SNR TRA)
  • Keevin Madigan (JNR TRA)
  • Ben Blais (JNR TRA)
  • Frederike Breault (JNR TRA)
  • Kieran Wheatley (JNR TRA)

Timing and Schedule

 (All times are Pacific.)

Monday, April 7

9 a.m.-6 p.m.    – Official training

Tuesday, April 8

8 a.m.-7 p.m.    –  Official training

Wednesday, April 9

12:30-2:30 p.m.                           

WAG: Group 1 team & all-around (includes Colombia, Singapore, Mexico, Philippines, Peru, Australia)

3:30-6:30 p.m.                                  

WAG: Group 2 team & all-around (includes Chinese Taipei, New Zealand, and Japan)

7-9:30 p.m.                                       

WAG: Group 3 team, all-around & awards (includes Hong Kong, Panama, Canada, USA, and China)

Thursday, April 10

9-10:30 a.m.                                     

RG: Jr. group 

10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.                      

TG: Synchro preliminaries, finals & awards

1:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m.                         

RG: Jr. ball & hoop

MAG: Group 1 team & all-around (includes Chinese Taipei, Mexico, Philippines, Hong Kong, Malaysia, and Colombia)

5 p.m.-8 p.m.                                    

MAG: Group 2 team, all-around & awards (includes Peru, New Zealand, USA, China, Japan, Canada, and Australia)

5:30-8:30 p.m.                                  

RG: Sr. ball & hoop

Friday, April 11

9 a.m.-12 p.m.                                 

RG: Jr. ribbon & club

1-4:15 p.m.                                       

RG: Sr. ribbon & club

5-6 p.m.                                             

TG: Individual & team

6-9:30 p.m.                                       

MAG & WAG: Jr. event finals & awards

Saturday, April 12

9 a.m.-1 p.m.                                    

RG: Jr. & Sr. event finals & awards

2:30 p.m.-6 p.m.                              

MAG: event finals & awards

WAG: event finals & awards

TG: finals & awards


TV & Online Coverage

The Canadian Gymnastics Federation will be providing an online broadcast of all disciplines. “We will be broadcasting all competitions live online as well as providing an archive afterwards,” Sandra Lewis, the Communications Director of Gymnastics BC, told Full Twist. “Each apparatus will have a dedicated camera—you can choose what and how many you watch. For some sessions, we will be doing a Pacific Rim show with Kyle Shewfelt and other guests providing commentary.”

USA Gymnastics will provide coverage on their website,, and through their social platforms.

Many thanks to Sandra Lewis, the Communications Director of Gymnastics BC  for her assistance with the facts and information included in this article.


  1. Lola says:

    USA=Gym on twitter says no TV Broadcast in US for this competition

  2. edu says:

    try here
    Im watching it in Peru

Trackbacks for this post

  1. Shannon Miller Annonces comeback bid for Rio 2016 | Gymtruthteller's Blog
  2. 10 minutes with: Ellie Black (CAN) - Full Twist

Leave a Comment

Powered by WordPress | Deadline Theme : An AWESEM design

  • RSS
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Flickr
  • YouTube