Commonwealth Youth Games 2011


The 2011 Commonwealth Youth Games will begin on September 7th and run until the 13th. Artistic Gymnastics is just one of seven sports in which athletes will compete for medals from the Commonwealth areas. Countries such as Wales, England, Scotland, Isle of Man, Australia, Northern Ireland, Sri Lanka, Cyprus, Singapore, New Zealand, Namibia, Cayman Islands, Bermuda will all take part.

Artistic Gymnastics will run from September 9th – 11th. Gymnasts will compete in either the Ellan Vannin National Sports Centre or at the Manx Gymnastics Centre of Excellence. A maximum of 3 male and 3 female gymnasts can compete. three counts as a team and the gymnasts will compete in AA and Individual Apparatus. For men the age group competing is 14 – 18 years (born in 1993 -997) and for female, gymnasts must be between 13 – 15 years of age and born in 1996 – 1998. Max athletes per CGA: 3 men & 3 women.

The full schedule is below:

We will see some familiar names competing such as England’s Rebecca Tunney, Gabrielle Jupp and Angel Romaeo (Wales). Some of these gymnasts most recently competed at the European Youth Olympic Festival in Trazbon. View the full list of competitors here.

Videos will more than likely emerge on YouTube over the coming days. Full Twist will post results as they come.

Leave a Comment

Powered by WordPress | Deadline Theme : An AWESEM design

  • RSS
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Flickr
  • YouTube